Allergies: Finally an egg and dairy free muffin recipe that works!

I’ve never blogged about recipes before, however this afternoon I am motivated to do so because I’m sooooooo incredibly excited!  As I’ve alluded to in earlier posts, our LM suffers terrible allergies to both raw egg (anaphalactic) and dairy protein (extreme eczema).   To write about our struggle with his eczema and other allergy hardships would take way too long… But needless to say, it’s been difficult to-date to find egg and dairy free snacks that are both easy to make and taste good.  So today I’m going to let you in on a little secret I’ve discovered through a lot of trial and error… An egg and dairy free muffin recipe that is easy, works, AND tastes yummy!

Now in all honesty, I can’t take any of the real credit as I’ve been using a recipe developed by Joanne Choi over at the Week of Menus blog.  Joanne’s research into Allergy Friendly recipes has led to her posting a fantastic Banana Blueberry Muffins (egg and dairy free) option.  I have made these muffins many times and we all love them, particularly the LM.  But I was wanting some other options with different veggies, fruit, and less sugar.  Hence, I began experimenting using Joanne’s recipe as a base.

After many failed attempts which saw the LM screw his face up due to the hardness, tasteless, and dare I say – disgusting, muffins I was placing in front of him, this afternoon I appear to have hit the jackpot.  Now, I may be completely jumping the gun here, but am very interested to know if you can duplicate my recipe and let me know your thoughts!  Might be a bit of fun if nothing else.  🙂

Carrot & Banana Muffins (egg and dairy free)

1 and a half cups plain flour

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon baking powder

Half teaspoon of ground cinnamon

Quarter teaspoon of salt

3 tablespoons of Nuttlex (melted)

3 tablespoons of Rice Bran Oil

Quarter cup of water

1 teaspoon of vanilla essence

Quarter cup of castor sugar

1 ripe banana (mashed)

2 medium carrots (grated)

Quarter cup of steamed diced apple (optional)

Steps:

1.  Pre-heat oven to 180 degrees (C) or 355 degrees (F)  (Nb:  I have a fan-forced oven)

2.  Place all dry ingredients, except the sugar, in a medium sized mixing bowl (flour, baking soda, baking powder, cinnamon, and salt).  Mix together well.

3.  Mash banana in a separate bowl and add the sugar, Nuttlex, Rice Bran oil, water, and vanilla essence.  Mix well.

4.  Add the grated carrot (and diced apple if including) to the DRY mixture, stirring until evenly coated.

5.  Add the wet mixture to the dry mixture.  Stir gently until ingredients are just combined (the mixture is not runny, but firm and sticky).  Over-stirring will result in the mixture hardening too much during cooking.

6.  Place spoonfuls of mixture into a 24 cup mini-muffin tin (I find the mixture makes 28 mini-muffins comfortably).

7.  Cook for 22 minutes, or until muffins are golden brown.  If under-cooked, muffins will be doughy.  If over-cooked, muffins will be hard.

So, be sure to let me know how you go and if they are a success for you too (or complete disaster!).  Thanks so much as always and very much look forward to sharing more with you soon.

Take care,

TSM  xx

One thought on “Allergies: Finally an egg and dairy free muffin recipe that works!

  1. ellebakes says:

    these look great! Thanks for sharing 🙂

Leave a Reply

